Do I Really Have Time For Prayer?

Do I Really Have Time For Prayer?Life can be quite busy.

As a family, we stay in a constant state of motion – meals, dishes, laundry, work, homeschooling, meetings, cleaning, yard work, bath-time, story-time, bedtime…

Sometimes it seems like we hardly have time to just enjoy life.

Time seems to be a scarce commodity.

So how in the world do I have time for prayer? Is taking time out of my busy day to pray even practical?

I know that seems like a silly question, but I have to think about…how much time do I spend in prayer each day?

Sure there are those “fox-hole” prayers I offer up:

Jesus, please don’t let me get stuck in traffic…God, please get me out of this mess…Jesus, let me get that promotion.

Sure, God hears these prayers, but in truth they are all about me and my will.

The question then becomes – What is prayer?

Prayer is that raising of my heart and mind to God, seeking His Will in all things, desiring to grow closer to Him. It is a “vital and personal relationship with the living and true God” (CCC paragraph 2558).

This is where prayer becomes practical. Allow me to explain.

I married my wife because I fell in love with her. I desired to know her, to be one with her. In order for that love to grow I have to spend time with her, talk to her, ask of her, and share with her. I have to praise her for all the joy and good she brings into my life. The same is even more true of my relationship with God.

I am Catholic because I believe that Jesus Christ is God, sent by God the Father, one with the Holy Spirit. Biblically and historically I know that He founded the Catholic Church. I believe that He made me. If He made me then He must know why I’m here, more importantly, He must love me.

How could I not want to know Him?

So all those things that were true with my wife, must also be true with God. I am so grateful for my life and I want to know why God put me here. I want to do what He wants. In order for that to happen I MUST be in a personal relationship with Him…that is prayer.

I haven’t always cared about that relationship. God hasn’t always been that one Priority above all other priorities in my life. Personal experience has shown me that when I don’t pray I get lost. My life becomes unmanageable.

My motto has become FIRST THINGS FIRST.

I’m only “here” for a little while. If God Is then the most important part of my day will be those times spent in prayer, those times when I’m in communion with God.

With that in mind, the answer to the question Do I really have time for prayer? is simple…

I don’t have time “not” to pray.

In my next post, I’ll share some practical prayer tools that have been extremely useful to this busy, working, kid-raising husband~father.

May God bless you and keep you.

About Joe

I'm just another "average" Catholic. View all posts by Joe

Leave a comment